Quantum Field Theory: Concepts, Constructions & Curved Spacetimes

Conference Title:

Quantum Field Theory: Concepts, Constructions & Curved Spacetimes


A conference on mathematical quantum field theory at the

University of York, 4.-7. April 2017.

including two special sessions in honour of

and a lecture by Vaughan Jones.

Speakers and Talks:

Titles and abstracts

The slides of the talks can be found here.

  • Detlev Buchholz (Göttingen)
         The universal C*-algebra of the electromagnetic field
  • Daniela Cadamuro (Munich)
         Construction of quantum integrable models with bound states
  • Ed Corrigan (York)
         Aspects of defects and integrability
  • Fay Dowker (Imperial)
         Quantum Field Theory on a Causal Set
  • Benjamin Doyon (King's College)
         Quantum systems out of equilibrium
  • Klaus Fredenhagen (Hamburg)
         Cosmological perturbation theory and perturbative quantum gravity
  • Stefan Hollands (Leipzig)
         Entanglement measures in quantum field theory
  • Vaughan Jones (Vanderbilt)
         Some scale-invariant states on quantum spin chains and their properties
  • Jorma Louko (Nottingham)
         Waiting for Unruh
  • Michael Müger (Nijmegen)
         Some ideas of Rehren and their ramifications
  • Kasia Rejzner (York)
         Convergence of the Epstein-Glaser S-matrix in the Sine-Gordon model
  • Alexander Schenkel (Nottingham)
         Homotopy theory + AQFT = Quantum Gauge Theory?
  • Alexander Strohmaier (Leeds)
         Index theorems for hyperbolic operators and particle creation
  • Rainer Verch (Leipzig)
         Quantum physics, fields and closed timelike curves: The D-CTC condition in quantum field theory
  • Elizabeth Winstanley (Sheffield)
         The Kay-Wald theorem and HHI-like states on black hole space-times
  • Simon Wood (Cardiff)
         What to expect from logarithmic conformal field theory


Two conference pictures, taken by Christine Cockett:




The conference will be held in the Lakehouse in the Ron Cooke Hub on the Heslington East campus of the University of York. Note that this is not the campus where the Mathematics Department is!

Travel to York and accomodation

Rail: York is well-connected within the UK by rail. On arrival at the railway station, the University is serviced by regular buses UoY66, and UoY56, both of which travel to University East, where the Lakehouse, Ron Cooke Hub is.

Air: There are good connections to several international airports. The most convenient is often Manchester, from which there is a direct train service running 24hrs a day. Leeds Bradford is closer; and the connection to York is by bus to Leeds and then train to York.

By Road: We recommend drivers approach the University from the junction of the A64 and A1079 on the east of the city, from where the University is signposted. Please note that Parking is limited and visitor parking is on a pay and display basis (see the interactive campus map for locations). Parking costs £1 per hour or £6 per day, and is free at weekends and between 6pm and 8am.

Full advice on travel to and from York are available here


Participants other than speakers should arrange their own accommodation. The links will below direct you to some of the accommodation options in York

Visit York

Travel Lodge

The Limes Hotel

The York Priory


Hotel 53



Registration for the conference is now closed.

All participants are invited to register and pay the conference fee of £45 (reduced to £25 for IoP members) through the York online system by clicking on the button below. Speakers are registered automatically and do not have to pay the fee.

To contact the organisers, please use the email address york17@lqp2.org



  • Paul Abel (Leicester)
  • Dorothea Bahns (Göttingen)
  • Ben Maybee, (Leeds)
  • Marcel Bischoff (Vanderbilt)
  • Burkhard Blobel (Göttingen)
  • Henning Bostelmann (York)
  • Marcos Carvalho Brum de Oliveira (São Paulo)
  • Detlev Buchholz (Göttingen)
  • Daniela Cadamuro (Munich)
  • Ed Corrigan (York)
  • Chris Curry (Durham)
  • Fay Dowker (Imperial)
  • Benjamin Doyon (King's College)
  • Wojciech Dybalski (Munich)
  • Chiara Entradi (Göttingen)
  • Federico Faldino (Genova)
  • Chris Fewster (York)
  • Hugo Ferreira (Pavia)
  • Klaus Fredenhagen (Hamburg)
  • Markus Fröb (York)
  • James Gaunt (Nottingham)
  • Luca Giorgetti (Rome)
  • Keith Hannabuss (Oxford)
  • Eli Hawkins (York)
  • Atsushi Higuchi (York)
  • Stefan Hollands (Leipzig)
  • Timothy Holmes (Imperial College)
  • Vaughan Jones (Vanderbilt)
  • Ian Jubb (Imperial College)
  • Bernard Kay (York)
  • Mike Kiss (York)
  • Gandalf Lechner (Cardiff)
  • Jorma Louko (Nottingham)
  • Umberto Lupo (Bern)
  • Niall MacKay (York)
  • Wan Mohamad Husni Wan Mokhtar (Nottingham)
  • Thomas Morley (Sheffield)
  • Michael Müger (Nijmegen)
  • Robert Parini (York)
  • Diego Pontello (Centro Atómico Bariloche)
  • Karl-Henning Rehren (Göttingen)
  • Kasia Rejzner (York)
  • Nicola Rendell (York)
  • Yafet Sanchez Sanchez (Southampton)
  • Alexander Schenkel (Nottingham)
  • Sohail Sheikh (Nijmegen)
  • Daniel Siemssen (Genova)
  • Alexander Strohmaier (Leeds)
  • Tony Sudbery (York)
  • Noel Swanson (Delaware)
  • Vladimir Toussaint (Nottingham)
  • Koen van den Dungen (SISSA)
  • Simone Del Vecchio,  (Rome, Tor Vergata)
  • Rainer Verch (Leipzig)
  • Elizabeth Winstanley (Sheffield)
  • Francis Wingham (York)
  • Simon Wood (Cardiff) 


Organizers: Dorothea Bahns, Chris Fewster, Gandalf Lechner



Funded by the Universities of York and Göttingen, and the Institute of Physics (IoP), Math. Phys. Group.